Songs in the Night

I trudged back to my car, thoughts swirling. A good friend of mine had just complained about having to drive home with a car full of exuberantly noisy kids. It was an off-hand comment, and said with a smile because it really wasn’t a big deal…

But as I reached to unlock my car door, the silence around me was deafening. I wish I had a car full of my own exuberantly noisy kids right now, instead of a car ringing with the silence of my thoughts…

By the grace of God, right at that moment, a tune started playing in my head:

 “Count your blessings, name them one by one.
Count your blessings, see what God has done.”

It was perfect timing. I desperately needed a reminder of the antidote to the bitterness that was creeping into my heart.

So I started listing off the things I was thankful for, and recounting the many blessings that God has worked in my life… And not only just “the things that I have,” like my cat and a car, etc. But the things that GOD HAS DONE, the ways I have seen Him working, and the blessings in my life that have come very obviously from His hand.

As I pulled out of that parking lot, the silence around me was no longer heavy with sadness. Instead my mind was filled with thankfulness that overflowed naturally from remembering God’s faithfulness and His involvement in my life. Yes, there is loss and sadness. But there is also much love and so many ways that I see God taking care of me.

I’m thankful to serve a God who works in our lives to give us the gentle encouragement that we need, even in the small moments.

“But no one says, ‘Where is God my Maker, who gives songs in the night,” Job 35:10

 

Count Your Blessings
by Johnson Oatman, Jr.

When upon life’s billows you are tempest tossed,
When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,
Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

Refrain:
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
Count your blessings, see what God hath done!
Count your blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

Are you ever burdened with a load of care?
Does the cross seem heavy you are called to bear?
Count your many blessings, every doubt will fly,
And you will keep singing as the days go by.

So, amid the conflict whether great or small,
Do not be disheartened, God is over all;
Count your many blessings, angels will attend,
Help and comfort give you to your journey’s end.

 

5 thoughts on “Songs in the Night

  1. This is so beautiful. It’s really easy to give into feelings over Truth when life is seemingly beating us to a pulp. But when the Holy Spirit brings Truth to mind at the perfect time, it always reminds me of the verse that talks about “grace upon grace.” The deep sweetness of intimate knowledge of our Creator and Savior that has the power to carry us through anything. ♡♡ Thanks for sharing this, Julie. Your tender heart is always a big encouragement to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mosaicsoftheheart

    Oh Julie, I remember well how deep and hard those little offhand comments could pierce… I am proud of you for choosing to wield the sword of gratitude at them!! ❤️
    P. S. I wanted to let you know that I did get your email… my reply will be coming. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My Mammaw used to sing that song to us when we were kids! And what a good practice it is, too. I have intermittently kept a “gratitude journal” where I write down specific things I am grateful for each day. I began it at a time when I was having difficulty in my marriage, emotional pain from the past was haunting me, homeschooling was gonig badly, kids were disrespectful and hateful to each other, and I was in a ton of physical pain all the time. It helped to remember the things I was thankful for in those moments – even simple things like the fact that God made our food to have flavor and not be merely nutritious fuel. When I started writing them down each day, it forced me to think deeply AND made me see how many blessings there really are!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

